Pathfinder Skills: Reforged

The following is my theoretically improved skill list for Pathfinder.  As of this writing none of it has been tested and it is in the very earliest conceptual stages.  My list was inspired by two separate break downs of Pathfinder’s (and AD&D for that matter) skill system; one from Papers & Pencils and the other from Hack & Slash, as well as my experience (however limited) and my insatiable  drive to tinker with gaming rules.

Over the next few *cough* days, weeks, months *cough* I will be breaking down how my particular list of skills work, as the house rules I will use these in change certain aspects of them.  But first, here’s the list:

  • Acrobatics
  • Athletics
  • Knowledges
  • Linguistics
  • Perception
  • Sleight of Hand
  • Social
  • Spellcraft
  • Stealth
  • Survival
  • Use Magic Device

You’ll notice, for those of you who’ve played before — and if you haven’t you should — that there are some new skills added to the list (Athletics and Social).  Some of the skills haven’t changed (Knowledges) but others have been reworked (Linguistics).  Skills that are completely gone for now are Perform and Craft only because a better system for these needs to be built from the ground up.

For those of you who will disagree with me… be gentle.

-Zymas

2 comments

  1. LS

    I look forward to following your thinking as you outline these. I’m very much opposed to the linguistics skill as it exists, but you mention that you’re re-working it, so I’m eager to see what you come up with.

    It may interest you to know that I am currently knee-deep in redesigning the craft skill. It’s becoming a pretty large project, but I will put up the results of my labors when I am done.

  2. zymas

    I once thought to “fix” crafting, but soon realized how monumental of a task it would be. Though I have some core ideas I’d like to flesh out eventually. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

